Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
It depends on the Subdivision type. Usually anywhere from 30 to 65 days, except Major Subdivisions may take up to 5 months or more.
Show All Answers
For subdivisions that create parcels 35-acres or larger, there are no permits required; however, other development regulations may apply, we encourage you to visit with our offices at 307-682-1970. Please file an Affidavit of Exemption to be recorded with your subdivision documentation.
For parcels 35-acres or less, then yes, you must obtain permits through the County.
There are several exemptions to the Subdivision process, including gifts to family members. An Affidavit of Exemption form is available from our offices that can be recorded along with your subdivision documentation. The Affidavit explains all the types of exemptions available. If you are unsure, call our office at 307-682-1970.
You will want to visit with a Wyoming Licensed Professional Land Surveyor. Most Surveyors are familiar with subdividing in Wyoming.
An Administrative Plat is used for combining two lots or adjusting a lot line—A Simple Subdivision permit is for parcels 35 or greater, split into two lots, each lot 10-acres or greater—A Minor Subdivision is a subdivision that creates more than two lots, but not more than five, each lot being greater than 5-acres—A Major Subdivision is for subdivisions with 6 lots or more, or a subdivision with lots less than 5-acres in size. Specific regulations apply for each type of subdivision.
Mandatory zoning is only required for Minor and Major subdivisions. In rare instances, a Simple Subdivision may be required to be zoned depending on unusual circumstances.
The Subdivision Act of 1975 is a State Statute that mandates that all land less than 35-acres in size being divided into two or more parcels must obtain permits through the County where it is located.